Introduction

Welcome to ACS (Independent) Humanities Department.

Statement of Philosophy – Humanities

Humanities disciplines develop in students an understanding and appreciation of the human experiences and its environment so that people would recognize their common humanity and shared guardianship of the earth.

Why study the Humanities?

  1. The Humanities teach empathy and help us understand our past, appreciate the present and anticipate the future.
  2. The Humanities develop students to be informed and critical citizens.
  3. The Humanities help us build bridges across international communities through the understanding of various history, politics, spaces, economics and culture.

ACS (I) offers Combined Humanities, History and Geography for the Express programme.

For the IP programme, the school offers International Studies, History and Geography.

History develops young adults who can think, reason and write accurately and critically. Through the studying of history, students grasp how historical forces, events and personalities have shaped and formed the world we live in and in turn develop a sense of empathy, awareness and sensitivity to the diverse historical experiences that constitute the world today.

Geography is a highly relevant and practical subject which is concerned with real issues that affect our lives. These include topics such as global warming , the impact of the haze as well as health and diseases. A skill-based subject , students will acquire map-reading, research and fieldwork skills.

Combined Humanities is a compulsory subject offered in the GCE ‘O’ Level Examination . It comprises 2 components :

a) Social Studies, an interdisciplinary humanities and social science subject that :

  • Provides the broad-based foundation for humanities subject specialization
  • Develops students to be informed, concerned and participative citizens at local and global levels (Citizenship Education).

b) Elective Humanities

  • Elective Geography
  • Elective History
  • Elective Literature

Staff

Subject Title Salutation Name Email
Humanities Dean Humanities MR Jarett Kan Wern Hau jarett@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / Geography Deputy Dean Humanities/Geography MRS Sandra Sim sandra@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Deputy Dean Humanities/History Express MDM Vijitha Ranjee vijitharanjee@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Deputy Dean Humanities/History IP & IB MR Liu Guoyi liuguoyi@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities History Director Curriculum & Assessment Mr Tan Kok Choon kokchoon@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Senior Teacher MDM Toh Ling Lee linglee@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Senior Teacher MR Norman Chua Ching Poo normanchua@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Teacher MR Gavin Ang Chi Hong gavinang@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Teacher MR Brian Chirnside brian@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Teacher MS Cindy See Toh cindyseetoh@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Teacher MR Eugene Lai Liming eugenelailm@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Teacher MRS Goh Hwee Hwee hweehwee@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Teacher MR Lee James Belcher leejames@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Teacher MR Lincoln Chua Kay Leng lincolnchua@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Teacher MS Linda Goon Li Hua lindagoonlh@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Teacher MR Bobby Chew Tao Teng bobbychewtt@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Teacher MR Moghan Das moghan@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Teacher MS Nalini D/O Moorthi nalinimoorthi@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Teacher MR Neo Chai Wee chaiwee@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Teacher MR Peh Sik Kai sikkai@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / History Teacher MR Wong Tze Yung tzeyung@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / Geography Teacher MS Michelle Fong Qi Min michellefongqm@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / Geography Teacher MR Eugene Lim Chun Yen limchunyen@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / Geography Teacher MR Mark Frank Ratnam markfrank@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / Geography Teacher MR Jonathan Ng jonathan@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / Geography Teacher MDM Lim Wan Hoon limwanhoon@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / Geography Teacher MR Peter Davies peterdav@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / Geography Teacher MDM Ruvathy Arumugam ruvathyarumugam@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / Geography Teacher MS Salinah Bee D/O Abdul Latiff salinah@acsindep.edu.sg
Humanities / Geography Teacher MRS Elaine Lee Gek Choo gclee@acsindep.edu.sg

Special Programmes

Regional Studies Programme

Dr Goh Keng Swee Nation Building Series

Humanities Scholarship Programme

Moot Parliament Programme (MPP)

Humanities and Social Sciences Research Programme (HSSRP)

This site is best viewed using current versions of Firefox, Chrome, Safari or Microsoft Internet Explorer at a screen resolution of 1024 x 768 or higher.
______